Committee on Ministry


The Committee on Ministry examines ministers seeking membership in Presbytery and recommends those who shall continue, gives oversight to churches without pastors, develops standards for ministers’ compensation, establishes interim and temporary pastoral relations.

Think about the significance of the name of this committee. This is a committee and not a commission. It has less authority and power than a commission. Presbytery, however, may delegate to the committee the authority “to find in order calls issued by churches, to approve and present calls for service of ministers, to approve the examinations of ministers transferring from other presbyteries, to dissolve the pastoral relationship in cases where the congregation and pastor concur, and to dismiss ministers to other presbyteries, with the provision that all such actions be reported to the next stated meeting of the presbytery.” It is still one of the preeminent committees of presbytery, listed in the structures specified in the constitution. Both traditions that joined to form the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) always regarded this committee as preeminent in presbytery. Each held the commission or committee in high regard not only because of its role in church government but also because of the quality and character of the persons who have been its leaders.

The name is “ministry”, not “the minister” and not “ministerial relations”. The name suggests a broader responsibility than parish ministers and the personnel needs of churches. The Committee on Ministry is that committee in each presbytery charged by the Constitution of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) to “serve as pastor and counselor to the ministers of the presbytery, to facilitate the relations between congregations, ministers, and the presbytery, and to settle difficulties on behalf of presbytery when possible and expedient.

To navigate the work of this committee, you will need to pay close attention to the details you will find below. Many forms will need to be returned to by the deadlines below to be considered at our upcoming meetings. Materials received after the deadlines will be referred to our next meeting.  

Meeting Date

Material Due Date

Tuesday, February 6, 2018

Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Tuesday, April 3, 2018

Tuesday, March 20, 2018

Tuesday, May 1, 2018

Tuesday, April 17, 2018

Tuesday, June 5, 2018

Tuesday, July 10, 2018

Tuesday, September 11, 2018

Tuesday, October 2, 2018

Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Tuesday, January 8, 2019

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Tuesday, June 26, 2018

Tuesday, August 28, 2018

Tuesday, September 18, 2018

Tuesday, October 23, 2018

Tuesday, November 20, 2018