Committees

Commission on Ministry

 

The Commission on Ministry examines ministers seeking membership in Presbytery and recommends those who shall continue, gives oversight to churches without pastors, develops standards for ministers’ compensation, establishes interim and temporary pastoral relations.

Think about the significance of the name of this committee. Presbytery, however, may delegate to the committee the authority “to find in order calls issued by churches, to approve and present calls for service of ministers, to approve the examinations of ministers transferring from other presbyteries, to dissolve the pastoral relationship in cases where the congregation and pastor concur, and to dismiss ministers to other presbyteries, with the provision that all such actions be reported to the next stated meeting of the presbytery.” It is still one of the preeminent committees of presbytery, listed in the structures specified in the constitution. Both traditions that joined to form the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) always regarded this committee as preeminent in presbytery. Each held the commission or committee in high regard not only because of its role in church government but also because of the quality and character of the persons who have been its leaders.

The name is “ministry”, not “the minister” and not “ministerial relations”. The name suggests a broader responsibility than parish ministers and the personnel needs of churches. The Committee on Ministry is that committee in each presbytery charged by the Constitution of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) to “serve as pastor and counselor to the ministers of the presbytery, to facilitate the relations between congregations, ministers, and the presbytery, and to settle difficulties on behalf of presbytery when possible and expedient.

To navigate the work of this committee, you will need to pay close attention to the details you will find below. Many forms will need to be returned to com@presbynyc.org by the deadlines below to be considered at our upcoming meetings. Materials received after the deadlines will be referred to our next meeting.  

Meeting Date

Material Due Date

Tuesday, March 5, 2019

Tuesday, February 19, 2019

Tuesday, April 2, 2019

Tuesday, March 19, 2019

Tuesday, May 7, 2019

Tuesday, April 23, 2019

Tuesday, June 11, 2019

Tuesday, July 2, 2019

COM WILL NOT MEET IN AUGUST

Tuesday, September 3, 2019

Tuesday, October 1, 2019

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Tuesday, December 10, 2019

Tuesday, January 7, 2020

Tuesday, May 22, 2019

Tuesday, June 18, 2019

COM WILL NOT MEET IN AUGUST

Tuesday, August 20, 2019

Tuesday, September 14, 2019

Tuesday, October 29, 2019

Tuesday, November 26, 2019

FRIDAY, December 23, 2019

Forms